Our thinking: “I’m too Tired.” #God promises: “I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28-30 Battling #breastcancer #adenocarcinoma

I’m always amazed how tired I am after sitting all day in a hospital waiting room. I was reminded of this as I waited while Alison was in surgery. When the surgery went an hour longer than scheduled, it didn’t help.  Then the doctor came out and I found out that her cancer had wrapped itself around her brachial nerves and artery. He’d spent an extra hour trying to remove as much as he could without damaging the nerves or her arm’s blood supply. While he could only remove 80% of it, we are confident the 20 weeks of chemo and subsequent 6 weeks of radiation will kill it, all of it.

I felt the same tiredness while our son, Ben, underwent his first surgery and later an ultrasound, CT scans, and an MRI.

There’s also a fatigue that comes with any big change because handling the ebb and flow of emotions takes energy. Add to that the extra energy needed to focus on the routine tasks while your mind tries to constantly return to the crisis at hand.

The only thing I’ve found that comforts and energizes me when nothing else does is God’s promises. This is the second verse stitched on a pillow case that a friend gave to my wife.

Matthew 11:28-30

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

For more information about our battle with cancer, please go to Battling Cancer x2

For information about my Christian Thriller, please go to Malevolent Tide

My wife had gone back with my son during his CT and MRI scans. When she came out this is what she found. 😉

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Our thinking: “I’m too Tired.” #God promises: “I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28-30 Battling #breastcancer #adenocarcinoma

  1. Brooke

    Sometimes emotional and metal stress tire me much more than anything physical👍

Leave a Reply

