Our thinking: “I can’t figure things out.” God promises: “I will direct your steps.”

Ever been in a situation where you can’t do anything to help? Faced a problem that you can’t solve? Forced to make a big decision without really knowing how to decide?

My recent experience with these three uncomfortable positions have involved dealing with my wife’s breast cancer and son’s adenocarcinoma. As a husband and father, I have an important support role but I’m not a surgeon or an oncologist and am not equipped to cure them of cancer. Fortunately, we have good doctors who work as a team to do that. But we also have the great physician.

My wife had to decide whether to do a lumpectomy, mastectomy, or double mastectomy. Being only 44 years old, she decided on a double mastectomy to give her the greatest chance of never going through this again. For our son, we had to decide on the extent of treatment. No one should have to go through radiation or chemotherapy unless it is really necessary. All of these decisions are very complicated and very important. They also involve trusting knowledgable advisors.

As a result, we pray for God to grant us wisdom and for God to grant our doctors wisdom. We also pray he guides us through this maze of life. From where we stand we cannot see over the hedges, but he can. He’s made us perfectly free and we can choose to go it alone or we can choose to ask him to help and guide us. The choice is ours.

I choose to ask God to guide me. It doesn’t mean I don’t have to think. It doesn’t mean I don’t have to go and seek sound advice and wisdom. But it does mean as I think and as I seek advice and wisdom, God will guide my steps and will guide others to me when need be.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

For more information about our battle with cancer, please go to Battling Cancer x2

For information about my Christian Thriller, please go to Malevolent Tide

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

