Our thinking: “I can’t manage this.” #God promises: “I will supply all your needs.” #Jesus #Christ #breastcancer #cancer

Regardless of how brave you are, when you first hear that someone you love has cancer a wave of fear hits.  When you get over the shock, you wonder how you will manage the whole thing. The unknown future, the uncertainty, the potential for the worst possibility to come true.  Your mind can carry you away like a wild river. If it’s your wife or husband and you’re a two income family, then you wonder how you will pay your regular bills, not to mention the additional medical bills.  At that point, it’s easy to hit your figurative and literal knees.  “I can’t manage this,” is a humbling phrase.

My wife and I had to deal with the news about her grade 3, stage 3 invasive ductal breast cancer and our son’s adenocarcinoma within days of each other.  There was a ton of uncertainty, the potential for a lot of bad things to happen in the future, and the potential for a lot of very difficult decisions.  But one thing we knew for certain was that God could still be trusted and that he would see us through.  So why we knew we couldn’t manage, we knew God would supply all of our needs. Here’s his promise.

Phillipians 4:19

19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

It’s been almost two months since they were diagnosed and both have had surgeries. My son has one more surgery and my wife starts 20 weeks of chemotherapy on July 8.  God has supplied us with strength, he’s supplied us with friends and family and neighbors we didn’t even know who pray for us, cleaned our house, had fund raisers for us, and brought us meals.  I expected God would grow our faith through this and he has – both in him and in our friends, family, and neighbors.

There’s still uncertainty.  My wife’s surgery went well but they could not remove all the cancer because it had encased her brachial artery and nerves.  But we have faith in God and that the chemotherapy and radiation will kill it all and she will be cured.  For our son, he has a couple of more scans and if that comes back as we expect then he will just have one more surgery and follow up monitoring.

God has more than met our needs. He has blessed us and carried us through the storm.  I can’t manage and I’m glad I can’t.  God is a much better manager than me.  After all, he spoke the universe into being and breathed life into every living thing.

To learn more about my wife and son’s battle with cancer, please go to Battling Cancer x2

For information about my Christian Thriller, please go to Malevolent Tide

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

